Briggs congratulates Lothian’s newly elected Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament

Lothian Tory MSP Miles Briggs has today tabled a Parliamentary motion congratulating Lothian’s newly elected Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament. 2 young people have been elected by their peers to represent each of the constituencies in Lothian region.

Speaking today Miles said:

“I congratulate all those who have been elected as MSYPs in the Lothian region and wish them well in the important role they play in speaking up for young people in our area.

“The Scottish Youth Parliament does a lot of excellent work in highlighting key issues for younger people. Last year, for example, their ‘Our Generation’s Epidemic’ report on mental health helped inform the policy debate around mental health services for young people.

“I look forward to working closely with MSYPs from Lothian in the months ahead.”


* Please see below Miles’ motion as tabled today by Miles.

* For any further information, please contact Miles’ office on 0131 348 5945

Motion Number: S5M-04746
Lodged By: Miles Briggs
Date Lodged: 21/03/2017

Title: Lothian’s New MSYPs

Motion Text:

That the Parliament congratulates all those who have been as elected as new Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament in Lothian; notes that Megan Kay and Lara Adams Carmena have been elected in Midlothian North and Musselburgh, Alice Ferguson and Lucy Martin in Linlithgow, Eireann Sheridan and John Walker in Almond Valley, Jessie Watt and Tomi Okpaje in Edinburgh Northern and Leith, Adam Paton and Callum Stark in Edinburgh Southern, Abigail Wallace and Myada Eltiraifi in Edinburgh Central, Emma Logan and Lily Pattison in Edinburgh Western, Saul Rennie and Charles Phillips in Edinburgh Pentlands, and Thomas Anderson and Shannon Donoghue in Edinburgh Eastern; considers that MSYPs and the Scottish Youth Parliament play an important role in representing the views of young people and campaigning on key issues, and wishes all of Lothian’s new MSYPs and those across Scotland every success during their terms of office

Chris Terry